Book Tag

Popular Books That I Own But Haven’t Read Yet

So I own a lot of books that have just been chilling on my shelves for literal YEARS. Like some of them I have owned since I was still in school, that was over 4 years ago now. I’m an awful person and an awful reader I know I know. But maybe making this post will convince me to read them and maybe others opinions with make me read them too!

  1. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

I actually haven’t read any books by her which is probably gonna make some people mad. I have owned a physical copy for a few years now and I got it in a Waterstones sale. My friends also bought copies at the same time and they finished it and said it was great and I’m just yet to pick it up… I usually like fantasy and action and that sorta thing so whenever I go to pick up a new book that one is just like ‘meh’. I just associate contemporary with shitty romance and being boring, which I know is dumb because I have read and loved contemporary books. But yea hopefully I will pick this one up eventually.

2. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

So yea this is a triology that I’ve been like ‘omg I need to read this it sounds do cool and interesting and right up my street’ and then just never picked up… The copy that I have is signed too, like you’d think that would be an insentive. When Six of Crows came I out I ordered that and was like ‘This will make me read Shadow and Bone’. *spoiler alert* it didn’t. Now I just have two series that I need to start!

3. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

I bought this because SO many people on booktube were talking about it and even one of my best friends was saying it was amazing. So I bought it because of the hype and then just still haven’t picked it up. It is just a book that is not really my type so whenever I pick up my next book it just gets over looked…

4. If I Stay by Gale Forman

This is another book that everybody and their dogs seems to have read that I still haven’t. I got it from a website called ReadItSwapIt where you swap books with other users. I literally got it because everybody at the time kept talking about it in every haul or tag. Its a really thin book so I know that I could literally finish it in a day, A DAY. Yet it sits on my shelf just waiting. Again because its contemporary I just assume its gonna be dull so I over look it.

5. The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

So I bought this one because Carry Hope-Fletcher talked about it in her videos and I thought if she liked it so would I because we had similar taste in books. And it has sat on my shelf for sooooo long. Then I started seeing a lot of controversy about it and the romance within it. Now I dont like a big romance plot to start with never mind a harmful one. So I was put off reading it for a while. But now I wanna read it again just because its sat there for so long and I want to form my own opinion on it I guess (not because I don’t trust others opinions but I like to have read something properly before I judge it).

6. American Gods by Neil Gaiman

So I’ve read a book by Neil Gaiman before and I enjoyed it but it wasn’t my favourite.  But I’ve always wanted to read more because I liked his writing style. One of my friends tried to read it but got weirded out because apparently somebody is swallowed by a woman vagina??  Then one day my cousin was like ‘I have 2 copies of American Gods do you want one?’ And obviously I’m never one to turn down a book, especially when its free. And then it got so hyped recently because of the TV show. So everybody was talking about it but it is still just there chilling on my shelf.

7. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Lani Taylor

I bought this because Kat from Booktube talked about it constantly and it was just in my head that it was gonna be a great book. I bought it. Then when I read the synopsis again I was like ‘meh’ so I just haven’t bothered to pick it up. I feel like its gonna be one of those books that are just so hyped that its gonna be a disappointing read.

So yea, I have more but these are the main ones that I see people talking about all the time. I’m writing this more for me than anybody else to sort of remind myself of the possible good books that have just been sitting there for LITERAL YEARS. But if you have read any of these let me know in the comments and let me know if you think they’re worth reading or not. Are any of them your fave or do you hate it and don’t see the hype? I always like to know others opinions.

 

2 thoughts on “Popular Books That I Own But Haven’t Read Yet

  1. Shadow and Bone isn’t the best book out there, but I’d read it just to read the other two books in the trilogy (which are so, so much better). And Fangirl was really amazing, especially if you’re planning on getting Carry On after!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

