3 Star Book · Book Review

Lets Talk Books: The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

51CDQNYL8gL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

3/5

This book was the first book that I finished this year (yay). I’ve been busy with uni and stuff so haven’t had the time or motivation to actually just sit down and read. But I went on holiday for a week with my boyfriend so I had all the time in the world. I always like to take books that have sat on my shelves a while on holiday with me. This has been on my shelf for about a year and a half now if not longer so I feel like it was time. Going into this book I really did love the premise. I can say I have never read a story like this so far. It was new and refreshing and I loved the world and Irene (our main character) has a job any bibliophile would die for! But I just felt that something was missing the whole time I was reading it. It was all just a bit lacklustre. There is action and romance and an amazing world but for the first 2/3 I just wasn’t into it. I can say that the last part really gripped me and it was definitely worth finishing.

So into the characters. I liked the main characters of Irene and Kai. I thought that the dynamic between them could be a little awkward and just off sometimes but apart from that I enjoyed reading their story together. Also, there is a little romance every now and then between them but its not in your face and not insta love which makes it actually realistic and bearable to read.

My favourite character, hands down was detective Vaine. (But that might be down to my soft spot for suave detectives). He was just a nice little side (almost main character) that fit into the story so well and allowed the world to be opened up more and more. And I loved this world. I am a fan of victorian era and steampunk type worlds so this was perfect for me. I do wish we got to see more of the world and learn its history but perhaps that could be in later books.

The initial world is a bit to get your head around at first as it only give you little snippets of what happens within the library as the book progresses. But the more you read the more you know and this strange world opens up around you. The book does this with many different things. It slowly reveals things about the world and the characters past so it keeps you wanting to know more and keep reading. Sometimes, this can be a bit annoying if you’re impatient and want to know everything like I do as sometimes the book just seems to slow down in pace then suddenly pick up again.

TL;DR: this book is good with a beautiful world and likeable characters however, sometimes it can be slow pace wise and a little bit predictable. Aside from those two things I would recommend this book. Although it is not one of my favourites it is a good read.

Have you read this book? Let me know what you thought in the comments and maybe check out my blog for more reviews!  

Leave a Reply

