Book Tag

Reading Slumps and How I Get Out of Them

So if you like to read books you’ve probably come across a reading slump from time to time. If you haven’t then you are lucky and I wish that I was you. For me reading slumps are this, picture it; a fantastic book that I’ve been dying to read for so long, I’m a couple chapters into it, its better than everybody said it was going to be, I’m pretty sure this is going to be one of my new favourite series, I have all the time in the world, I put that book down and complain I don’t have time/I’m too busy to read even though I am clearly not. Why do I do this to myself? But I’m pretty sure that I’m not the only one!

Getting out of a reading slump is hard but once I’m out, I am out and there is nothing that will stop me from reading and completing my GoodReads challenge for the year. How do I get out of reading slumps then, I fail a couple times first but I keep at it at that is the most important thing. But I mainly follow these steps to help get me through.

Step 1. – Pick up the damn book. Even if its just a chapter or a couple pages. That is something and it is progress.

Step 2. – Monitor your progress somehow. Whether this is through something like GoodReads or just writing it down in your own little notebook or your phone. Monitoring your progress can help motivate you to read more and then you can be like ‘Oh wow look at how much I’ve read since the slump’, it’ll make you feel good.

Step 3. – Talk to other people who have read that book. I bet you that they will say things like ‘Omg you’re coming up to my favourite part’, ‘The next part is so good!’ and ‘Wait you haven’t read the ending, the ending is unreal you need to know what happens’. Then this will get you like ‘damn what are they talking about I need to know’. If you don’t know anybody reading that book then look at none spoilery reviews online.

Step 4. – Keep reading. You’ve got to keep going little by little until it becomes part of your routine again. Once you get it into your routine you’ll be flying through books like there is no tomorrow.

Step 5. – Take the book with you. You have to take public transport? Take your book. You have an appointment somewhere? Take your book. You’re going to work/school? Take your book. Going for a walk? Take your book. You understand? Just take the book with you. It helps to maybe invest in a bad big enough to carry a book too so then you have no excuses.

Step 6. – If you fall into the slump again, try again. And if you keep trying and trying and it is still not working ditch the book and pick up something that is short, easy to read and your style. No point and no shame in not finishing a book you are not enjoying. There is not enough time in this world to spend it reading books you don’t enjoy. And if it really comes to it, you can just pick up that book again at another time in your life, its not a big deal.

Reading should be fun and something that keeps us happy. I’m in a reading slump right now and it is killing me. So what am I doing instead of picking up the book? I’m writing about how I should pick up the damn book!

Are you in a reading slump or have any tips to get out of one? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

