Lets Talk Books: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

My Rating: 4/5

I honestly loved this book but I hit a reading slump while reading it so it took me like 3 months to actually finish it. If you’re into high fantasy and badass lady characters then this one is for you! I am a fan of just that and that is why I loved this book. I loved the world, the characters, the backstory and the main story of this book.

So this book is about the best assassin in her world, Celaena, and she is caught and sent to a slave camp where people do not survive for long but she manages to make it though. There is talk about slavery throughout this book due to the slave camp from the beginning. She is then brought from this slave camp to the main city of this world where she is to be the Princes champion in a set of games. The winner of the games gets to be the new Assassin of the King of this world. The Prince, Dorian, offers Celaena her freedom if she wins and completes her contract of Kings Assassin. If she fails she will be sent back to the slave camp.

So that is the background of this book. Lets get into the characters. Celaena is our main character that this book follows and I really liked her. She wasn’t whinny or pining after boys all the time like a lot of YA female protagonists that I’ve read. She is very headstrong and self-centered. She knows what she wants and what she wants she fights to get. Because of this her character is very witty and snarky. Although she is a very strong character we also get to see a different side of her that isn’t just the assassin. We also the sides of her that are caring and loving and hurting. I like this balance with her because it makes her seem like a real person. Nobody is that strong all of the time. The other main characters seen are Dorian and Chaol.  Dorian is the charismatic Prince of this book who is witty and charming and doesn’t want to marry any of the ladies his Mother wants him too. Dorian is my favourite character from this book I just love him. I love arrogant confidant boys, what can I say? Chaol is very much like Celaena he is head strong and serious. I like him as a character but I wish we saw more of his friendship with Dorian because I really enjoyed seeing them interact and develop together throughout the story.

The love in this story was okay but not necessarily needed. I can tell that Maas is pushing for that love triangle to happen. And let me tell you something, I HATE LOVE TRIANGLES. They’re just so unnecessary and so over done! And mostly never done well. I personally enjoy the romantic relationship that is developing between Celaena and Dorian and would prefer Celaena and Chaol to just keep and develop their friendship. But that is probably too much to ask from a YA book, because YA and love triangles go hand in hand a lot of the time. I’m not a big romantic so I personally try not to focus on the romance in books I read anyway.

The main story line follows Celaena and the other champions fighting for victory and their lives. A plot twist happens when the champions within the castle start being murdered one by one. Celaena is determined to find out who the killer is but also stay alive throught the trials as well. While all of this drama is happening with the trial Celaena also discovers things about and from the old world. One where fairies and magic and shunned and seen as evil. This is definitely building backstory for the rest of the series and I am so excited to find out more! I found the backstory so interesting and it makes me want to pick up the next books in the series. The ending to this book is also fantastic, its unreal. It is so dramatic and exciting and worth reading the book for. I am personally tired of reading books to get to a disappointing anti-climatic ending. Throne of Glass is definitely not one of the books. The ending of this justifies the build up and leaves you wanting to find out more about this world and its characters.

TLDR; This is a great book for YA fantasy that I would highly recommend! There might be a little love triangle but nothing I can’t get over. Great characters. Great world. Great main plot. Great sub plot. Great backstory. 

Have you read this book? Did you enjoy it? Let me know by commenting or sending me a message and following if you enjoyed!

Leave a Reply

