Lets Talk Books: The Road by Cormac McCarthy

My Rating 1/5

image

Review:

Initially, I was quite excited to read this novel it had promise of adventure and suspense. However when I actually began to read this novel I realised adventure and suspense were not to be expected. Personally I couldn’t get into this book at all.

When I first began to read the thing that put me off most was the lack of punctuation. There were no commas or speech marks, only periods. This was a big off put for me. I understand that it is supposed to symbolise how monotonous the man and the boys life is but that could have been done in other ways. Not only was there a lack of punctuation but there are no chapters and very little communication between the characters.

I felt as if the story was very slow paced and it took so long for the characters to progress through the story. Everything they do just seems very pointless and monotonous. I think this is because I couldn’t connect with the characters in anyway. They have no names or even much of a backstory, you’re kind of just thrown into the middle of the story and expected know what was going on and why. Honestly I never really cared for them. I didn’t care where they went, who they met or what they did. McCarthy really doesn’t give these characters much depth (yet they weren’t badly written). There seemed to be very little intimacy between the man and the boy which made me feel very little towards them. He made the characters reflect the landscape in that the land is empty and so are they.

TLDR: Had to read this for college and found it really depressing and it made me really not wanna finish it. Its good but not a book I would read for pleasure because my god its depressing af 

Leave a Reply

