4 Star Book · Book Review

Lets Talk Books: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Rating 4/5

(There are no spoilers in this review) 

Review: 

So The Raven Boys… what the actual fuck even happened in this book? After finishing it I have no idea. However, I do know that I absolutely loved it and the soon I can get my hands on the rest of the series the better. I think its a safe assumption on my part to say that I have never quite read a book like this one before… It was definitely something.

If you like books that are filled with magic, mystery, action, romance, exploring, good female leads (because yassss Blue girl you do you) and pretentious rich boys then this is the book for you. I feel like this is so diverse that anybody could pick it up and find at least one thing that would keep them reading. I kinda went into this book not really knowing or expecting much since I’d just heard that everybody loved it I might as well give it a shot, and I am soooooo glad that I did! When I read the summary I was like ‘nah doesnt seem for me but whatever I’ll try it out anyway’. Then I realised the summary had not prepared me for whatever just went down because damn. I think it is best to go into this book completely blind because the mystery of it all is what makes this book what it is.

I also really liked the characters in this. I love really pretentious characters who think they’re untouchable but we all know that they’re just little softies when it comes down to it. For me this was definitely Gansey and I kinda fell in love with this idiot from the off, boat shoes and all. Blue is also another very well written character and she’s got that ‘strong, independent woman who don’t need no man’ thang going on which is just fab. But deep down I think I really a Ronan type of gal myself. The characters all really go well with each other, there is a lot of back and forth that really adds to the humour of this book.

Overall, this book will have you asking ‘omg wtf is even going on’ but will also keep you laughing and smiling the entire way through. Even if you don’t understand the majority of the plot its still worth the read.

TLDR: What the actual fuck happened in this book?! Will deff be carrying on this series because I cant seem to help myself when it comes to pretentious rich boys and dead Welsh Kings apparently. 

You should read this book because I want more people to try and explain it to me thanks bye xoxox

Leave a Reply

