Lets Talk Books: The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya by Nagaru Tanigawa

Rating 3/5

SO I read this book as part of the Travelling Book Project that I am doing with some p cool EU people from @booksandtea ‘s discord which you can join if you like reading and stuff 

Review:

              If you like espers, aliens and time-travellers then this book is the one for you.

So this book is a weird one. Like in a good way but also in like ‘wait wtf did I just read’ kinda way. Reading this book was definitely interested and I was always left wanting to know what was about to happen next. I personally really like guessing whats going to happen next in a book that I’m reading, but with this sometimes I just gave up guessing because no matter what I thought I was wrong. Okay maybe I was right on one or two occasions but the rest of it? None of what I would have guessed happened.

This book is basically about two high school students in Japan looking for weird mysterious stuff so that there life can be interesting again. I understand this completely because I wish some time traveller would show up at my college and make something interesting happen. That is what this book is all about the everyday life of 2 students just being fucked up in the best, most fun kinda way. This book is packed with fun and is very random and spontaneous in a way that will just get you laughing or asking ‘wtf’… but in a good way!

My only problem with this book would be some of the scenes that involve what can only be described as straight up sexual harassment. The main character straight up exploits another character through her appearances and forces her to do things that she does not consent to. This is obviously an issue within the book as it makes many scenes very awkward and makes you see certain characters in a different way than intended. The reason I have given it 3 stars is because I feel as if a lot of the books sense of adventure and humour is lost due to the very questionable acts of certain characters.

TLDR; This book is really fucking odd but really fucking good. Would recommend reading it. I might pick up the rest of the series but I wouldn’t say that its a ‘must’ for reading the rest. Read it for the Travelling Book Project I am a part of. Oh yea and like this is akso apparently an anime too which I really wanna watch cos this book would be an amazing anime. And I am a fan of the animes so ya know. 

If you’ve read the book (or seen the anime) tell me what you thought of it cos it was deff an interesting read and I’d love more opinions on it thanks. 

If you want more information about the Travelling Book Project I am a part of check the #TravellingBooksandTea and also check out @booksandtea ‘s page for more information on the bookish discord 

Leave a Reply

