Lets Talk Books: Divergent by Veronica Roth

My Review: 3.5/5

image

Review:

The main plot of the book was interesting and original and actually made me want to not put the book down. I particularly liked the history of this world and the mystery that surrounds it.

I quite liked most of the characters, especially Tris and Caleb (even if sometimes Tris makes awfully stupid decisions). Overall I thought the characters were quite-well written, although I wish that I was able cared about them a bit more than I did. The only really problem I had with the book was the romance. I found it a bit creepy and therefore awkward to read.

The ending was perfect. Personally I thought it ended exactly how it should have. It leads well into the second book and opens up more questions about what really goes on in this world.

Although it wasn’t one of my favourite books it was still a good read and I don’t think I’ll finish this series.

TLDR: Tris makes stupid decision the same as every other YA protagonist ever. Found the romance kinda weird. The world was pretty fab. Good as a standalone but I don’t think I’ll bother with the sequels.  

Leave a Reply

